The Ice Bucket Challenge

I get a Facebook notification with my name tagged in a post from my cousin. The words were along the line of: “Thank you for nominating me to do the ALS Ice Bucket Challenge and I nominate Alice Doolan , you have 48 hours!” My first thought was “oh great -.-”

Now do get me wrong I am a huge believer in donating what you can to charities as they are always for a good cause, but this is different to me. Sure if the charity had made it a trending thing to just donate to them I would do it without a doubt, but the challenge with it…let me explain.

The ice bucket challenge is another thing started on the internet and a few years ago internet challenges never used to involve charity, all they did was make you look stupid. I still believe to this day that challenges are usually stupid, they make you look stupid, you can cause yourself harm sometimes, and overall they are just pointless attempts at getting attention or being involved to try and “fit in”. The main problem is that I don’t particularly want to put a bucket of cold water over my head, and now you are thinking “but come on its just a laugh, its harmless, its fun and you are getting involved and doing something fun”, and that my friend is peer pressure.

The actually topic of this post is to talk about peer pressure and the worry it causes people. Peer pressure is an awful thing to experience as you clearly don’t want to do whatever it is, yet society intends on humiliating you publicly or shaming you making you feel guilty for not doing it. I am fully aware that the ice bucket challenge isn’t going to kill me or harm me, but I don’t want to do it still. Its not particularly pleasant and I’d rather just donate the money to be honest. Peer pressure is also an issue as you never know why they don’t want to do it. What if I had a fear of water or ice? What if I couldn’t be below a certain temperature or it could harm me? What if I wasn’t feeling well and this could make it worse? You don’t know any of these things, yet the immediate response is to still force that person to fell awful for not joining in on your ridiculous game.

Some people are strong enough to step away from peer pressure. One of my other cousins was nominated and he decided to just donate and that was it. Even in the comment section you can see people giving him grief over it, but he was better than that. I personally am not as good as he is. I fail to stand up for myself because I fell so morally obliged to do this.

I have in fact participated in one challenge in the past however and that was the “No Make-Up Selfie” for Cancer awareness. I had no issue with this challenge it was simple, easy and there was nothing embarrassing, humiliating, harmful or uncomfortable about it. I’ll post my picture right here:

no-makeup-selfie

This was a fun thing for me to get involved in and I actually felt extremely proud to be apart of it. I also made sure to donate and to make myself aware of what cancer actually is and to educate myself in what the charity is about. That’s the other problem I have with the ice bucket challenge.

Not a lot of people actually know what ALS is and what they do as a charity. This is a quote directly from the website so you can educate yourself : “Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), often referred to as “Lou Gehrig’s Disease,” is a progressive neurodegenerative disease that affects nerve cells in the brain and the spinal cord. Motor neurons reach from the brain to the spinal cord and from the spinal cord to the muscles throughout the body. The progressive degeneration of the motor neurons in ALS eventually leads to their death. When the motor neurons die, the ability of the brain to initiate and control muscle movement is lost. With voluntary muscle action progressively affected, patients in the later stages of the disease may become totally paralyzed.” I think that this is a terrible thing for people to go through and I believe that the charities work is absolutely amazing. So it seems worth while to donate towards such a cause, but to chuck freezing water over my head that doesn’t help at al and I don’t want to do? I don’t see a point personally.

However, I have 48 hours and I do intend on doing the ice bucket challenge, because the idea of public humiliation from my peers makes me worried, sad and guilty, and unfortunately I am not as strong as my cousin in simply saying no.

New posts coming soon, I also intend on doing a review of the first 100 episodes of Naruto as yes, I am late on another anime trend that has been around for a while, but I still want to express my opinion on it so far 🙂 Leave a comment on your views on peer pressure and on the ice bucket challenge down below!

Alice x

4 thoughts on “The Ice Bucket Challenge

  1. I have just posted on fb that I won’t be doing the challenge but donating, I was sat here virtually in tears thinking I need to do this or everyone is going to hate me. My husband said no one can make you do anything you don’t want to. So I took a deep breathe and posted I wouldn’t be and have got nothing but credit for actually telling the truth how many people are doing it and looking a fool and hating every second.
    Keep believing in urself, u can stand up to peer pressure and the result isn’t as bad as u fear sometimes. A new craze will take over soon.

    Liked by 1 person

    • This is my point, nobody should feel so stressed about something like this that should be a good thing for a good cause. Your husband is right and I respect your decision to not do the challenge 🙂 I will make my decision on this tomorrow, but I’ll probably end up doing it. It is true however, that another challenge will soon appear anyways 🙂

      Like

  2. My opinion on peer pressure: A lot of people overlook the effect that it has on people! I think it is a serious thing, as you say, it can make people do very stupid, sometimes dangerous, things! I know that its difficult to do so, but I feel that it is imperative to stand up for what you believe in, no matter the consequences. If people have a go at you for doing so, then they themselves have no idea how brave you are!

    My opinion on the Ice Bucket Challenge: I think it is a good thing, to share awareness of the charity and the illness! Except that I feel that it has been taken too far; no one talks about the illness (as you said) and people don’t respect someone for saying no and donating more money towards the cause than the people doing the challenge. I have myself said no to doing the video, and luckily my friends respect that. I think that you shouldn’t do anything that you don’t want to, and you aught not to worry about peoples’ response. Your friends will most likely stand up for you, and you have every right to say no 🙂

    Just my thoughts, hope I helped a tiny bit, I wish you luck with your decision 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • With regards to your comments on peer pressure, I do believe that you are brave for standing up for what you think is right and accepting the consequences, but I am not very confident and I’m not really brave. They are things I have to work on and this post is here to remind of that for the future 🙂 I also agree with your opinion on the ice bucket challenge. A lot of people are simply doing the challenge and either don’t know what the charity does or they haven’t even done it for the charity! However, with so many of my friends and family doing the challenge, I think that they would want me to do the challenge and not to back out 😉 Either way still considering what to do, and I will have made a decision by tomorrow 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

