Bell’s Palsy

You are looking at this title and you probably have no idea what Bell’s Palsy is, well neither did I and its made life…different lets say.

Ok so I posted a little while ago about me being sick, which will be linked right here -> https://doolanducky.wordpress.com/2014/10/08/im-sick/

Well, basically I was waiting a week to get better. Colds take about a week to go away and for you to recover. However, I woke up on the Sunday morning feeling slightly different. Something wasn’t right with my eye, but I assumed that I’d simply opened my eyes too quickly and they just needed to sort themselves out so I ignored it. Half way through the day I walked into the kitchen of my flat and started talking with my flatmates as you do, when suddenly laughing and smiling felt different. At the time I didn’t understand it, but I knew that it didn’t feel right at all. Now most people know if there is something wrong with you face, you would check to see if you were having a stroke. Quickly, yet discretely, I was checking my arms and speech for the common signs but I was perfectly fine, it was simply my face. Something was seriously wrong. I then went t my room, looked in the mirror and tried to close both eyes at the same time. I couldn’t do it, my right eye remained open no mater what. I also tried holding air in my mouth and I couldn’t do that either. Not going to lie, I was secretly panicking.

So what else do you do when something’s wrong and you don’t know what to do? Well you consult the two best sources of course: Google and my mum. Went onto googled typed “cant close one eye” and Bell’s Palsy instantly came up. I read the page found out all about it and then skyped my mum to see what she made of this. Now, unfortunately for  it was a Sunday and it was around late afternoon to early evening when I started to take action. This meant that everywhere was closed. Then after more google searching we found an emergency medical line. We were able to get in contact with a professional and at the end of the conversation it was concluded that I needed to get to hospital.

There was however a little bit of a problem with this: one I didn’t know where the hospital was and two I don’t drive which is the transport they recommended to get there quickly. I was at this point praying that one of my flat mates would drive me there is they had a car. I didn’t have a lot of time as I had to be here within half an hour, so I walked into the kitchen and immediately asked if anyone had a car. I’m a shy person and my friends had people over too so doing this was nerve wracking but it had to be done. Luckily for me one of my flatmates did have a car, and after asking them if they could take me to the hospital everyone was immediately concerned and doing all they could to help. I am so grateful to have such a loving bunch of people around me.

I was scared, but within minutes of asking my flatmates for help I was at the hospital. After a short period of waiting time I was seeing a doctor and she stated that it was Bell’s Palsy. For those of you who don’t know, Bells Palsy is the temporary weakness or paralysis of the muscles in one side of the face caused by a virus (my cold) that comps the nerves. So I was proscribed a type of steroid to take in order to strengthen the muscles in my face and eye drops as the eye I cant close will become super dry.

When I got a cold I didn’t expect to lose in half my face at the same time! It’s made life difficult I can tell you. I couldn’t close my eye to sleep so I had to tape it down, concentrating on anything was difficult as only one eye is doing all the work, you become tired extremely quickly spending most of your time sleeping, you can only use one half of your mouth so you can only eat solids and drinking is suddenly a challenge, and overall  most things that are easy usually, are now extremely difficult and it lowers your mood drastically. I mean you still have a cold and you cant smile! I don’t know it just really knocks your confidence.

I am fortunate enough to have such a loving and supportive group of people in my life who have helped me through this difficult time and they mean so much to me I can not thank them enough ❤ I am doing a lot better now and for those of  you who think you have this too or who are currently experiencing this, don’t worry or stress as it is only temporary and you’ll soon be back to your old self 🙂 Go to your GP and they’ll help you get back to normal in no time. Until then do whatever makes you happy 🙂 I bought new clothes and ate chocolate  🙂 I felt a lot better hahaha XD

Alice x

3 thoughts on “Bell’s Palsy

  1. My mum had this when I was younger and at the same time my dad had broken his wrist. Shopping was fun, my mum couldn’t see to sign to pay and my dad was right handed! It was a fun journey too as my dad wouldn’t let my mum drive so he did but changing gear she did. :/ quite dangerous to think back but was all ok. She was back to normal quite quickly.

    Like

  2. This must have been a really scary experience, and you handled it perfectly 🙂 I know that you’ll make a full recovery soon, and most of this is down to you’re amazing attitude 🙂 Its certainly a challenge that most don’t have to undergo in their first month of uni, and I’m really sorry you had to be the unlucky one, but you have done so well, and I am so so proud of you ❤ Keep smiling 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

